Who will Win this year's Tour De France?

Posted by

This year's Tour De France kicks off on July 6 in Belgium.   This is the most exciting race every year for Pro Cycling fans.   This year will be especially thrilling because there are many riders in contention.   Cyclingnews.com recently put out a list of the five top contenders based on June form.   Here they are

1. Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)

2. Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott)

3. Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ)

4. Geraint Thomas (Team Ineos)

5. Nairo Quintana (Movistar)

This is an interesting list.  Note that Chris Froome that won four tours for Team Sky (2013, 2015, 2016 and 2017) is injured due to a crash in June.   Also Geraint Thomas, last years winner,  is only shown as fourth.    This makes sense since this list is based on June form.    Last year,  Geraint Thomas has never won a Tour and was racing hard before the Tour for the most podium finishes to impress his team.  This year with a Tour win in he can race more strategically and keep his best for the Tour.

Be sure to tune in this year and see if the Tour winner is on this list. And remember, ProCycleGear.com has all the above contenders team kits!